Skip to content

Watch Nine Inch Nails’ Final Wave Goodbye Show Courtesy of Intense, Fan-Made Documentary

nine inch nails, wave goodbye, all is said and done

Trent Reznor had been teasing and hinting at Nine Inch Nails’ recent revival for some time, but back in 2009, when Mr. Self Destruct put NIN on hiatus, things got a little emotional. As far as we knew, those final Wave Goodbye shows were the last we’d see of Reznor’s live spectacle. Thankfully, that’s proven not to be the case — tours are planned for both How To Destroy Angels and the new NIN — but anyone interested in revisiting what briefly looked like the end of the Pretty Hate Machine can do so now, thanks to a fan-made concert film.

As Consequence of Sound points out, a group of NIN devotees who call themselves a tiny little dot have spent the last three years piecing together fan-shot footage of that last show, originally performed on September 10, 2009, to craft a three-and-a-half-hour documentary titled nine inch nails: [after all is said and done]. The project reportedly required more than 5,000 hours of work and resulted in what a tiny little dot described as “a video production of a NIN concert unlike anything ever before.”

According to the mysterious outfit, the feature draws from five sources of audio, 27 HD footage sources, and a total of 75 hours of video. Presenting the 37-song set as a full-fledged doc demanded more than 3,500 hours of pre-production, more than 600 hours editing the package, an excess of 65 hours fiddling with audio, and more than 40 hours in post-production. So, yeah, a lot of time spent staring at screens, but all time well spent, considering the flick’s crisp visuals and startlingly clear (and abrasive) audio.

Fans can stream nine inch nails: [after all is said and done] in its entirety, as a YouTube playlist, up top. The film is also available for download (as are the audio files) via torrent. A Blu-Ray/DVD release is coming soon. Embrace the downward spiral.

nine inch nails: [after all is said and done] set list:
“Somewhat Damaged”
“The Collector”
“March of the Pigs”
“Something I Can Never Have”
“The Frail”
“The Wretched”
“Head Down”
“Just Like You Imagined” (featuring Mike Garson)
“La Mer” (featuring Mike Garson)
“Eraser” (featuring Mike Garson)
“The Becoming” (featuring Mike Garson)
“Down in the Park” (featuring Gary Numan)
“Metal” (featuring Gary Numan)
“I Die: You Die” (featuring Gary Numan)
“Letting You”
“Down in It”
“The Hand That Feeds”
“Head Like a Hole”
“Me, I’m Not” (featuring Atticus Ross)
“The Warning” (featuring Atticus Ross and Dave Navarro)
“Piggy” (featuring Atticus Ross and Dave Navarro)
“Gave Up” (featuring Dave Navarro)
“Mr. Self Destruct” (featuring Greg Puciato and Ben Weinman)
“Wish” (featuring the Dillinger Escape Plan)
“Atmosphere” (Joy Division)
“Dead Souls” (Joy Division)
“The Good Soldier”
“The Day the World Went Away”
“In This Twilight”