News \

Neu! Legend Klaus Dinger’s International ‘Japandorf’ Project to Receive Posthumous Release

New song set to home movies of the Krautrock innovator

Although Neu! multi-intrumentalist and onetime Kraftwerk drummer Klaus Dinger passed away in 2008, some of his unreleased late-career work may at last see the light of day. On March 25, Berlin-based Grönland Records will release Japandorf, the final installment in a trilogy of unheard album-length excursions helmed by Dinger — who’s also made albums as La Düsseldorf — backed by a cast of Japanese experimental musicians. These 12 songs were mostly recorded from 2000 to 2006 with help from his partner Miki Yui and musician Kazuyuki Onouchi.

“The album contains songs which Klaus had in his mind for a long time but were previously unreleased as well as totally new songs which emerged through the process of working together,” explained Yui (via Exclaim). She and Onouchi finished mixing the album — “a long and winding road” — in 2010. “Klaus worked seriously but joyfully, patiently and carefully on the album, because he knew that such extraordinary experience and challenge enriched the Japandorf artists’ lives and the results; the music is for the future generations of listeners to enjoy.”

Above you can sample Japandorf’s opening track, a minimal, kinda punky, sort poppy song called “Immermannstraße” that features vocals from Yui that translate to “How lucky it is to be here / A beautiful day be forever.” The video features simple, home-movie-style footage of Dinger and friends on a tour boat in what may be the Netherlands. He kept a studio in the coastal province of Zeeland. Yui wrote that they’d been practicing for a world tour when he passed. “Sadly it is not possible any more [but] it is still a big pleasure to bring our music to listeners all over the world.”

Klaus Dinger + Japandorf, Japandorf track list:
1. “Immermannstraße”
2. “Duomo Arigatou”
3. “Sketch No 1_b”
4. “Udon”
5. “Kittelbach Symphony”
6. “Cha Cha 2008″
7. “Ai”
8. “Sketch No 4″
9. “Spacemelo”
10. “Karnival”
11. “Osenbe”
12. “Andreaskirche”