Skip to content

Hear New Radiohead Song ‘Harmonics Loop’ From Thom Yorke’s Two-Hour BBC Mix

Radiohrad New Song Thom Yorke Atoms for Peace Mix Essential Mix Harmonics Loop

Last month, SPIN took a visual-textual trip through Thom Yorke’s 20 Biggest Influences, but part of what keeps the Radiohead and Atoms for Peace main brain’s music so fresh is that his inspirational palette is always evolving. With an assist from super-producer/Atoms bandmate Nigel Godrich, Yorke has delivered a two-hour song set to BBC Radio 1’s Essential Mix series that not only contains a bunch of cutting edge electronica, but also debuts an unreleased Radiohead song (“Harmonics Loop”) and two new Thom Yorke tracks called “The Twist (Unfinished B Section)” and “Has Been.” Also in the highly percussive mix are tracks by Aphex Twin, Boys Noize, Mr. Oizo, Oneohtrix Point Never, Diplo with Blaqstarr, and Steve Reich. The latter, of course, recently shared his new Radiohead-inspired composition, “Radio Rewrite.” 

Stream the entire mix at BBC Radio 1. If you’re looking for a shortcut to “Harmonics Loop,” the track seem to come in right around the 53-minute mark — after Atoms’ remix of “Other Lives” by Tamer Animals — and is a fairly minimal instrumental that goes from aggressive drumming into tautly strung melody in short order. One YouTube user has pulled that portion out of the mix for ease of aural stimulation: