Premieres \

Stream Aceyalone’s Superbad Indie-Rap ‘Leanin’ on Slick’ Title Track

L.A. MC's Cee Lo Green-guesting LP is due out on May 28

Los Angeles rapper Aceyalone returns with his tenth solo album, Leanin’ on Slick, on May 28 via Decon. Previous LP Aceyalone & the Lonely Ones, as SPIN’s Mosi Reeves wrote in 2009, “pays loving homage to doo-wop and Motown.” The publicity for Leanin’ on Slick heralds a soul-funk shift, and that’s just what we get on the title track. Aceyalone’s light-hearted rhymes imagine what people would do for something “superbad,” atop the taut guitar stabs and horn flourishes such a phrase suggests.

The new record reunites this founding member of hip-hop groups Freestyle Fellowship, Haiku D’Etat, and Project Blowed with previous collaborator Bionik. Other guests on the full-length include Aussie R&B singer Daniel Merriweather, L.A. singer Treasure Davis, and a fellow named Cee Lo Green.

Leanin’ on Slick track list:

1. “30 and Up”
2. “Leanin’ on Slick”
3. “I Can Get It Myself” (feat. Bionik)
4. “What You Gone Do With That”
5. “One Cup, Two Cup”
6. “Cold Piece”
7. “Pass the Hint”
8. “I’m No Cassanova”
9. “Show Me Them Shoes”
10. “Workin’ Man’s Blues” (feat. Cee Lo Green)
11. “Boss”
12. “Things Get Better” (feat. Daniel Merriweather)
13. “Hit the Road” (feat. Treasure Davis and Bionik)