Skip to content

Hear White Fence’s Scuzzy Bluster Bomb ‘Pink Gorilla’

White Fence 'Pink Gorilla' Cyclops Reap Stream Song

The Los Angeles-based one-man garage band known as White Fence has picked up some swell shine thanks to a recent album-length collaboration with our “fuckin’ psyched” pal Ty Segall. Their 2012 Hair LP laid down some serious psychedelic scuzz (see the gnarly nugget “I Am Not a Game”) and the man otherwise known as Tim Presley crushed out his own frizzled and fried long-player Family Perfume Vol. 1.

But on April 9, White Fence returns (already!) with the non-sequential Cyclops Reap via John Dwyer’s Castle Face Records (track list below). Regarding his new album, Presely has released the following totally super weird statement:

“I have cyclops vision now. But I’m not a giant. I changed my name and body only, and stabbed my social nous in the right ear. I still read fear but there are no police this year. I can repeat the same dream. I can let birds talk to me. I’m in jail. I have love and a whistle. I lay where the lotus lay and then spring the frozen flowers on any giving day. I apologize to those put in the trees, but I was gathering the Cyclops reap.” Oh, word?

We have the record’s first taste for your perusal below, “Pink Gorilla,” a song which opens with explosion of vintage psych that, we can only imagine, is somewhat akin to its titular beast bursting into one’s living room during a real swinging party.

White Fence, Cyclops Reap track list:
1. “Chairs In The Dark”
2. “Beat”
3. “Pink Gorilla”
4. “Trouble Is Trouble Never Seen”
5. “Live On Genevieve”
6. “To The Boy I Jumped In The Hemlock Alley”
7. “New Edinburgh”
8. “Make Them Dinner At Our Shoes”
9. “White Cat”
10. “Only Man Alive”
11. “Run By The Same”