Skip to content

Sub Pop Plans Record Store Day Compilation, Sort of Plans Label’s 25th Birthday Party

sub pop, record store day

The rollout of Record Store Day exclusives continues. We’ve already previewed the annual vinyl celebration’s official film selection and teased an über-rare Hüsker Dü single, now comes word (via Pitchfork) that Sub Pop is putting together its own compilation.

Sub Pop 1000 — the title’s a reference to 1986’s Sub Pop 100 collection — drops on April 20 and features previously unreleased songs by Peaking Lights, My Disco, Iron Lung, and more. The mix, which will be available digitally and on limited-edition vinyl, comes ahead of Sub Pop’s 25th anniversary party.

On July 13, the label that’s put out records by the Thermals, the Postal Service, and a little band called Nirvana, will host a celebration called the Silver Jubilee in the Seattle neighborhood of Georgetown. The website for the “Public Display of Affection” promises: “Actual live bands, playing actual live music! Some sort of art-related something or other! Like, in a gallery space, we’re thinking! A record-type event! Food! Beer and wine… Good times and opportunities to embarrass yourself and those who’d always hoped for better for you! Plus, bands!” Sounds fun. More details — like, you know, actual details — are forthcoming.

Find the track list for Sub Pop 1000 below.

Sub Pop 1000 compilation track list:

1. His Electro Blue Voice – “Kidult”
2. Chancha Via Circuito – “Lacandona”
3. Protomartyr – “French Poet”
4. Lori Goldston – “Tangled North”
5. Iron Lung – “A Victory for Polio”
6. Soldiers of Fortune – “Money”
7. Peaking Lights – “Subterranean Brainblow”
8. Ed Schrader’s Music Beat – “Radio Eyes”
9. My Disco – “Guided”
10. Starred – “Doomed”