Skip to content

Hear Little Boots Reinvent Her Electro-Pop Vamp on ‘Motorway’

Little Boots Motorway Video Premiere Nocturnes New Album

It’s been four years since Little Boots released her rave-kissed dance-pop debut Hands, but the English artist born Victoria Hesketh hasn’t been idle since. After wrapping up touring, she hunkered down on the international DJ scene and began to assemble the blueprint for her forthcoming follow-up, Nocturnes, due May 6 on her new On Repeat imprint. 

“Much of the ‘dance music’ we’ve been bombarded with of late leaves me cold,” she says via statement, “and recently it feels like Proper Songs have somehow gone out of fashion. So a big part of what I wanted to do on this record is show that you can produce dance-pop that’s both interesting and artistic, but maintains the magic of classic pop songwriting.”

To that end, Hesketh developed the new set’s sound with DFA Records’ Tim Goldsworthy, Simian Mobile Disco’s James Ford, and Andy Butler of Hercules and Love Affair — three producers uniquely suited for the job. And Goldsworthy-produced first taste “Motorway” is indeed both danceable and long on depth. In exchange for your e-mai; address, you can download it here. Nocturnes is also available for pre-order here

Little Boots, Nocturnes track list:

1. “Motorway”
2. “Confusion”
3. “Broken Record”
4. “Shake”
5. “Beat Beat”
6. “Every Night I Say A Prayer”
7. “Crescendo”
8. “Strangers”
9. “All For You”
10. “Satellite”