Premieres \

Hear Prins Thomas’ Disco Redux of Carmen Villain’s ‘Lifeissin’

Original track appears on Norwegian singer's debut

Before Norwegian singer-songwriter Carmen Villain adopted her musical alias, she worked as a fashion model named Carmen Maria Hillestad. Earlier this month, Villain shared “Lifeissin,” a haunting, synth-washed guitar gem off her upcoming debut album, Sleeper (out March 12 via Smalltown Supersound). Now, Villain’s labelmate, producer and noted Lindstrøm collaborator Prins Thomas, has reworked “Lifeissin” into a nearly nine-minute mix that feels as ready for the runway as the photogenic chanteuse herself. Handclap beats and lightweight disco flourishes dominate the first two minutes until Villain’s wispy vocals drift to the center. “How does it feel to believe / That I’m going to hell,” Villain asks. Pretty damn good.

Listen to Prins Thomas’ remix as well as Carmen Villain’s original below, then grab the track list for Sleeper.

Carmen Villain’s Sleeper track list:

1. “Two Towns”
2. “Easy”
3. “Lifeissin”
4. “Obedience”
5. “Made a Shell”
6. “How Much”
7. “Light, See”
8. “Dreamo”
9. “It May Well Die”
10. “Kingwoman”
11. “Slowaway”
12. “Demon Lover”