Skip to content

Destiny’s Child Reunite for ‘Nuclear’ First Song in Eight Years

Destiny's Child Nuclear New Song Love Songs

Last summer, Beyoncé’s father and former manager Mathew Knowles stoked up Destiny’s Child reunion rumors when he told Huffington Post that a pair of retrospective compilations were on the horizon, which would feature “new material.” The first of those sets arrived in October — Playlist: The Very Best of Destiny’s Child — sans any big surprises, but the second has just been announced, and it features the first freshly recorded song from the R&B ladies in eight years. Love Songs, due January 29, promises “mainly … romantic gems recorded between 1997 and 2004,” but also includes a track called “Nuclear” produced by Pharrell Williams and featuring the final DC lineup: Beyoncé, Kelly Rowland, and Michelle Williams. 

In other Bey news, the soon-to-be Super Bowl XLVII halftime heroine appears in a new GQ profile that unfortunately includes very few revelations. She does, howevever, speak of her time with the girl group that put her on the path to world domination. “You know, when I was writing the Destiny’s Child songs, it was a big thing to be that young and taking control,” she explains. “And the label at the time didn’t know that we were going to be that successful, so they gave us all control. And I got used to it. It is my goal in life to be that example. And I think it will, hopefully, trickle down, and more artists will see that. Because it only makes sense. It’s only fair.” Her HBO documentaryBeyoncé, airs next month.

Destiny’s Child, Love Songs track list:

1. “Cater 2 U”
2. “Killing Time”
3. “Second Nature”
4. “Heaven”
5. “Now That She’s Gone”
6. “Brown Eyes”
7. “If”
8. “Emotion”
9. “If You Leave [ft. Next]”
10. “T -Shirt”
11. “Temptation”
12. “Say My Name (Timbaland remix)”
13. “Love”
14. “Nuclear”