Skip to content

Watch Bob Mould and Delta Spirit Split the Bill on ‘Austin City Limits’

bob mould austin city limits video

Bob Mould promised a career-spanning retrospective for his appearance on PBS’ Austin City Limits and the former Hüsker Dü and Sugar frontman kept his word.

Backed by bassist Jason Narducy and drummer Jon Wurster, Mould powered through cuts from Sugar’s 1992 debut, Copper Blue (“The Act We Act,” “Changes,” and “If I Can’t Change Your Mind”); championed “Star Machine,” the opener from his 2012 solo album, Silver Age; and lovingly dusted off a few Hüsker Dü essentials (“Hardly Getting Over It,” “Celebrated Summer,” and “Makes No Sense At All”). It might not have Dave Grohl, but the seven-song set serves as a nice companion to the alt-rock icon’s star-studded tribute concert film, See A Little Light: A Celebration of the Music and Legacy of Bob Mould.

The episode, taped last November and available now for streaming, also features a performance from Americana enthusiasts Delta Spirit. The rootsy five-piece straddled tracks from last year’s self-titled LP and their 2010 effort, History From Below, before closing things out with the trashcan-featuring (and appropriately titled) “Trashcan,” from the band’s 2008 full-length debut, Ode to Sunshine. Watch a 20 minute preview of the episode up above (the entire broadcast is available on the show’s website), and check out both set lists below.

Bob Mould’s Austin City Limits set list:

1. “The Act We Act”
2. “Changes”
3. “Star Machine”
4. “Hardly Getting Over It”
5. “If I Can’t Change Your Mind”
6. “Celebrated Summer”
7. “Makes No Sense at All”

Delta Spirit’s Austin City Limits set list:

1. “White Table”
2. “Money Saves”
3. “Vivian”
4. “California”
5. “Trashcan”