Skip to content

Public Enemy and Rush Top Rock Hall of Fame 2013 Inductees List

Public Enemy Rock and Roll hall of fame inductees 2013

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees for 2013 have been announced. Of the two rap nominees, Public Enemy beat out N.W.A. (hopefully Flavor Flav will stay home). From the world of dance influencers, the recently deceased Donna Summer wins over Kraftwerk and Chic. The duel between Heart and Joan Jett and the Blackhearts went to the former. Also: Rush crushed Deep Purple in the prog department, bluesman Albert King is in, and so is Randy Newman, who probably should’ve been inducted 15 years ago. Oh, and Procul Harum was snubbed.

While the Hall of Fame isn’t actually divided into categories like an awards show, the nominees lineup often inadvertently pits like artists against one another. To be eligible, artists must have released their first single or album at least 25 years before nomination, which means that as the years tick on, musicians who emerged at the same time often wind up on the same short list. Last year the Beastie Boys won over Eric B. & Rakim. Other 2012 inductees included Guns N’ Roses (despite Axl Rose’s protest), Donovan, Small Faces, and Red Hot Chili Peppers. 

Non-performer awards for the 2013 ceremony will go to producers Lou Adler (for accomplishments other than bringing Cisco Adler into the world) and Quincy Jones who, of course, produced Michael Jackson’s Thriller among many other classic albums. Ballots are voted on by an international body of more than 600 “artists, historians, and members of the music industry,” according to the Rock Hall. This year also marked the first time that voting was open to the public, as fans could cast ballots for favorites at

The 28th Annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held on April 18, 2013, at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles. The ceremony will be broadcast on HBO on Saturday, May 18, at 9 p.m. ET/PT.