Skip to content

Ravi Shankar, Carole King Receive Grammy Lifetime Achievement Awards

ravi shankar, carole king, lifetime achievement grammys

A day after legendary sitar player Ravi Shankar died at age 92, the Recording Academy announced that the late virtuoso will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award. “Three-time Grammy winner and renowned sitar player Ravi Shankar was a true pioneer in introducing Indian music to the West,” Record Academy President/CEO Neil Portnow said in a statement. “He influenced artists across classical, jazz, pop, rock, and world music genres, including the Beatles, John Coltrane, Philip Glass, and his daughters, Norah Jones and Anoushka Shankar. In 1971, he helped pave the way for charity concerts, alongside George Harrison, organizing the Concert for Bangladesh, to help Bangladesh refugees.”

Portnow added, “Just last week, I had the honor to inform him that he would receive a 2013 Lifetime Achievement this February. He was deeply touched and so pleased, that he extended a gracious and personal invitation to visit with him at his home. We have lost an innovative and exceptional talent and a true ambassador of international music. Our thoughts and sincerest condolences go out to his family, friends and all of those around the world who were inspired by his music and compassionate philanthropy.”

Rounding out the list of Lifetime Achievement Award recipients is singer-songwriter Carole King; pianist Glenn Gould; jazz musician Charlie Haden; blues legend Lightnin’ Hopkins; singer Patti Page; and Motown vocalists the Temptations. Last year’s Lifetime Achievement Award winners included Gil Scott-Heron, Diana Ross, and the Allman Brothers Band.

The Recording Academy also announced the Trustee Award and Technical Grammy Award honorees. The Trustee Awards — which pay tribute to notable contributions in recording outside of performance — will be given to songwriters Marilyn and Alan Bergman; Phil Chess and his late brother Leonard, the two founders of Chess Records; and the late Capitol Records executive Alan Livingston. The Technical Grammy Awards, which recognize significant technical accomplishments in recording, will be presented to Roland Corporation founder Ikutaro Kakehashi; audio engineer Dave Smith; and microphone manufacturer Royer Labs.

A special invitation-only ceremony will be held for the 2013 Special Merit Award recipients on February 9, 2013. A formal acknowledgement will be made during the 55th Annual Grammy Awards, which will broadcast live from the Staples Center in Los Angeles on February 10, 2013 at 8 p.m. EST on CBS.