Skip to content

Tegan and Sara Get ‘Closer’ to Stick in Our Heads on ‘Letterman’

tegan and sara closer late show david letterman

“Closer,” the first advance track from Tegan and Sara’s upcoming album Heartthrob, is, as our own Chris Martins put it, “upbeat and heavy on the hook, starting subtle and building to sing-along bigness.” The Canadian alt-pop twins brought the synth-based song, plus a guitarist, bassist, and drummer, to The Late Show With David Letterman last night. Tegan and Sara recently unveiled the track list for Heartthrob and announced a January 29 release date, but pre-orders started yesterday. “I won’t treat you like you’re oh so typical,” the two promise here. If this or one of the song’s several other hooks — Tegan’s Karen O-like “closerrrrr-uh!” yelp, maybe? — isn’t lodged in your brainpan already, it almost certainly will be by the time the full-length arrives.

Heartthrob track list:
1. “Closer”
2. “Goodbye, Goodbye”
3. “I Was a Fool”
4. “I’m Not Your Hero”
5. “Drove Me Wild”
6. “How Come You Don’t Want Me”
7. “I Couldn’t Be Your Friend”
8. “Love They Say”
9. “Now I’m All Messed Up”
10. “Shock to Your System”
11. “Guilty as Charged” (bonus track)
12. “I Run Empty” (bonus track)