Skip to content

Stream Mogwai’s Ferocious Remix Album ‘A Wrenched Virile Lore’


If hardcore did die, it would probably come back as a remix album; at least, that’s what Scottish post-rock deities Mogwai seem to be saying with A Wrenched Virile Lore, a collection of remixes of last year’s Hardcore Will Never Die But You Will. The album will be released on CD and digitally on December 4 and has already been released as a limited-edition colored vinyl on Black Friday via Sub Pop, but in case you didn’t get your hands on one of those 2,500 copies, you can listen to the album’s exclusive North American stream below (it’s available in Europe via Rock Action). You can also download Jesu/Godflesh’s Justin K. Broadrick’s warped, retro “reshape” of “George Square Thatcher Death Party.”

A Wrenched Virile Lore features revised takes by ambient piano maestro Tim Hecker, San Francisco synth-punk outfit the Soft Moon, BEAK member Xander Harris, and Loop founder Robert Hampson.

A Wrenched Virile Lore Track List:

1. “George Square Thatcher Death Party” (Justin K. Broadrick Reshape)
2. “Rano Rano” (Klad Hest – Mogwai Is My Dick RMX)
3. “White Noise” (EVP Mix by Cyclob)
4. “How To Be A Werewolf” (Xander Harris Remix)
5. “Letters to the Metro” (Zombi Remix)
6. “Mexican Grand Prix” (Reworked by RM Hubbert)
7. “Rano Pano” (Tim Hecker Remix)
8. “San Pedro” (The Soft Moon Remix)
9. “Too Raging to Cheers” (Umberto Remix)
10. “La Mort Blanche” (Robert Hampson Remix)