Skip to content

The Roots Adopt Fake Patois for ‘Yo Gabba Gabba!’ Song ‘We Have Fun’

The Roots Yo Gabba Gabba We Have Fun / Photo by Getty Images

With its Biz Markie-hosted beatbox sessions and incredible musical guests, Nick Jr.’s Yo Gabba Gabba! is the hippest kids show since the ’70s version of The Electric Company. Thanks to these rubber monster robot thingies, we’ve now got a brand new Roots song, “We Have Fun.” The jaunty, upbeat track — which features a bit of the old fake patois — appears on Yo Gabba Gabba! Music Is… Awesome! Vol. Four, a 25-track collection that also features George Clinton, Belle and Sebastian, Peter Bjorn and John, CSS, Cut Copy, and Mariachi El Bronx, among others. Naturally, “We Have Fun” is a bit lighter than your usual Roots fare, but it still manages to slip in a boast or two over a snapping beat and a honking tuba solo.

Download the new song over at Consequence of Sound. This isn’t the Roots’ first musical contribution to the Yo Gabba Gabba! Here they are performing “Lovely, Love My Family” in 2010:

Yo Gabba Gabba! Music Is… Awesome! Vol. Four track list:
1. Yo Gabba Gabba! – “Live Show Intro (remix)”
2. Biz Markie – “Pancakes & Syrup”
3. Yo Gabba Gabba! – “That Is What Friends Are For”
4. The Roots – “We Have Fun”
5. Yo Gabba Gabba! – “Teamwork”
6. Peter, Bjorn & John – “I Wish I Was A Spy”
7. CSS – “Dinosaur Dinosaur”
8. Yo Gabba Gabba! – “Mixing Up Colors Remix”
9. Rocket From The Crypt – “He’s A Chef”
10. Yo Gabba Gabba! – ‘Balloons (live version)”
11. George Clinton – “Atomic Frogs”
12. Cut Copy – “Fantastic Voyages”
13. Yo Gabba Gabba! – “Dinosaurs Are Really Really”
14. YMCK – “Fruit Song”
15. Yo Gabba Gabba! – “Let’s Be Awesome While We Wait”
16. Metric – “Everybody Has A Talent”
17. The Aquabats – “Share”
18. Yo Gabba Gabba! – “Summertime”
19. Belle & Sebastian – “You Can Do It If You Try”
20. Yo Gabba Gabba! – “Clean It Up”
21. Mariachi El Bronx – “Friends Can Make You Smile”
22. The Bird And The Bee – “Cover Your Mouth”
23. Yo Gabba Gabba! – “Rest Up”
24. Paco – “Listen”
25. Digital Unicorn – “Green Remix”