Jack White Rakes Through ‘Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground’ Live at Third Man

Jack White

It’s that “Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground” time of year again. As you shake the decomposing organic evidence of fall from your shoes, sit down and take a listen to Jack White’s shit-kicking version of the vintage White Stripes rocker during his first ever official solo show, on March 8 of this year. It’s the first track from White’s upcoming Live at Third Man Records, a double album from that concert, with one disc featuring White’s all-female backing band, the Peacocks, and the other his all-male band, the Buzzards.

That album, in turn, is part of “Vault Package 14,” the latest entry in Third Man Records’ subscription series. Listeners who sign up by October 31 get the Live at Third Man double LP, plus a 7″ containing demos of Blunderbuss cuts “Freedom at 21,” “Love Interruption,” and “Hypocritical Kiss.” Also: a photo book from the Dead Weather’s 2009-2010 tour.

And finally, there’s “every little breath that is in your lungs,” which, as one of the Peacocks howls on this particular song, “is a tiny little gift to me.” Maybe consider it a Halloween treat?

Live at Third Man Records track list:

Set One: The Peacocks
1. “Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground”
2. “Missing Pieces”
3. “Sixteen Saltines”
4. “Love Interruption”
5. “Hotel Yorba”
6. “Top Yourself”
7. “Hypocritical Kiss”
8. “You’re Pretty Good Looking (For A Girl)”
9. “Blue Blood Blues”
10. “We Are Going to Be Friends”

Set Two: The Buzzards
1. “My Doorbell”
2. “Freedom at 21”
3. “I Cut Like a Buffalo/ Don’t Sweat the Technique”
4. “You Know That I Know”
5. “Weep Themselves to Sleep”
6. “Ball & Biscuit”
7. “Steady as She Goes”
8. “Seven Nation Army”
9. “Goodnight Irene”


Scroll to Top