Skip to content

Trent Reznor’s How to Destroy Angels to Release ‘An Omen’ EP

How to Destroy Angels Columbia An Omen EP

Trent Reznor has announced that his How to Destroy Angels project will be dropping a second EP on November 13 dubbed An Omen. Despite the Nine Inch Nails singer’s noted aversion to major labels, the release will come via Columbia Records in digital and vinyl formats. “Regarding our decision to sign with Columbia,” Treznor noted in his Facebook announcement, “independent releasing has its great points but also comes with shortcomings.” Well, well, well.

How to Destroy Angels is rounded out by Reznor’s wife, singer Mariqueen Maandig, plus his frequent score collaborator Atticus Ross, and NIN’s longtime graphic designer Rob Sheridan. They released a self-titled EP in 2010, and covered Bryan Ferry’s “Is Your Love Strong Enough?” for the soundtrack of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (scored by Reznor and Ross), but have otherwise been quiet since, supposedly hunkered down working on a HTDA full-length.

Earlier this week, speculation abounded when Amazon made live a preorder page for a then-unannounced EP. It’s possible that the apparent glitch wound up forcing Reznor’s hand. While the cover art hailed from How to Destroy Angels and the release date was listed as November 6, the label and format were correct. So perhaps the tracklist is too? Check that out below, via Antiquiet, and Reznor’s full Facebook post after that.

How to Destroy Angels’ An Omen EP track list:

1. Keep it together
2. Ice age
3. On the wing
4. The sleep of reason produces monsters
5. The loop closes
6. Speaking in tongues

More from Reznor:

Sorry for the radio silence lately… I’ve been busy! There’s a number of things to be revealed over the coming months. Some you may expect, others you may not. Patience, my friends.

Today’s news is about my band How To Destroy Angels. I’m happy to announce we’ve formally partnered with Columbia Records for our next series of releases. The first of these will be available in November and it’s called An Omen EP. As you may have guessed, it’s an EP. It contains six songs, some of which are from our full-length LP which is coming early next year.

We are making some videos, we are going to be performing live, and that’s all the details I have for now on those matters.

Regarding our decision to sign with Columbia, we’ve really spent a long time thinking about things and it makes sense for a lot of reasons, including a chance to work with our old friend Mark Williams. There’s a much more granular and rambling answer I could give (and likely will in an interview someplace) but it really comes down to us experimenting and trying new things to see what best serves our needs. Complete independent releasing has its great points but also comes with shortcomings.

We are all very excited about you checking out the new stuff. Wish I could tell you more, but you know how this works… it would take all the fun out of it!