Skip to content

Soundgarden Announce First Album in 16 Years, ‘King Animal’

Soundgarden / Courtesy of Universal Music

Soundgarden are silent no longer. The influential alternative rockers contributed a new song, “Live to Rise,” to this spring’s Avengers soundtrack, and on November 13 they will release their first album of new material in 16 years, King Animal, via Seven Four Entertainment/Republic Records. The reunited band co-produced the follow-up to 1996’s Down on the Upside with Adam Kasper, who worked on Soundgarden’s 1994 smash Superunknown along with records by Foo Fighters, Nirvana, and Pearl Jam.

Recorded at Studio X in Seattle, King Animal was truly a group effort, the band said in an announcement. For instance, while frontman Chris Cornell is responsible for the parenthood-contemplating on a song called “Bones of Birds,” guitarist Kim Thayil wrote the politically charged lyrics for the track “Non-State Actor,” and bassist Ben Shepherd contributed the lyrics for “Attrition.” Mixing was handled in Pasadena, California, by Joe Barresi, whose credits include the Melvins, Queens of the Stone Age, and Weezer.

Watch a trailer for album and check out the full track list below.

King Animal track list:
1. “Been Away Too Long”
2. “Non-State Actor”
3. “By Crooked Steps”
4. “A Thousand Days Before”
5. “Blood On The Valley Floor”
6. “Bones of Birds”
7. “Taree”
8. “Attrition”
9. “Black Saturday”
10. “Halfway There”
11. “Worse Dreams”
12. “Eyelid’s Mouth”
13. “Rowing”