Skip to content

Rock the Bells 2012 Lineup: Missy Elliott, Bone Thugs, Kendrick Lamar, and More

Missy Elliott / Photo by Getty Images

Organizers Guerilla Union announced the lineup last night for this year’s Rock the Bells three-stop festival series, which is stacked with several generations of hip-hop talent. Though Kid Cudi, Nas, and Wiz Khalifa share top billing on the lineup poster, Missy Elliott and Timbaland, the Hit Squad (EPMD, Redman, K-Solo, and Keith Murray), and Salt-N-Pepa will all join the bicoastal, three-weekend stadium tour. Bone Pugz Thugs-N-Harmony will reunite for their 20th anniversary to pay tribute to Eazy-E and perform E. 1999 Eternal in its entirety. As RTB vets, Wu-Tang members are all over the bill too, as Redman and Method Man wlll do their 1999 debut Blackout in full. RZA will “host” the series.

As a refresher: Rock the Bells started in 2004 as a SoCal-only festival, branched out to Northern California in 2006, and since has taken multiple forms and visited multiple U.S. cities. This year’s fest will hit its hometown, San Bernadino, California, August 18-19, then travel up north to Mountain View, California on August 25-26, and finally jet out to Holmdel, New Jersey on September 1-2. The Jersey date, as Miss Info points out, will take place over Labor Day weekend just minutes from Philly, where Jay-Z will be trying on his curation hat with Budweiser Made in America fest.

UPDATE: Lupe Fiasco tweeted last night, just after the lineup was released, that he is “not doing Rock the Bellz…thats [sic] a typo, fam and friends…” Quite a deliberately designed typo, it would seem (via Complex). Rock the Bells 2012 Lineup
Kid Cudi
Wiz Khalifa
J. Cole
Lupe Fiasco
Ice Cube
Mac Miller
Kendrick Lamar
Method Man & Redman
Deltron 3030
The Hit Squad
A$AP Rocky
Immortal Technique
2 Chainz
E-40 and Too Short
DJ Quik
Naughty By Nature
Big Daddy Kane
Slick Rick
DJ Lance Rock & Friends
Murs + Fashawn
ScHoolboy Q
Zion-I + Grouch _ Eligh
Dom Kennedy
Jay Rock
Missy Elliott + Timbaland
Bone Thugs-N-Harmony