Skip to content

Soundgarden’s First Song in 15 Years Arrives: ‘Live to Rise’

Chris Cornell / Photo by Mark Metcalfe/Getty

Soundgarden’s first new song in 15 years is a midtempo track about the sun with a blistering guitar solo. So, it sounds like a Soundgarden song! The track from the upcoming Avengers soundtrack (called Avengers Assemble in the U.K.) debuted via Seattle rock station KISW today. Recommended if you like “Black Hole Sun” and “You Know My Name.”

In addition to racking up good karma, Cornell has been in the epic blockbuster theme game over the past few years, contributing solo songs to Mission: Impossible II, Casino Royale, and Machine Gun Preacher, while his post-Soundgarden band Audioslave has been featured on soundtracks for Miami Vice and the Madden NFL 07 video game. The reunited Soundgarden have been touring since last summer. In November, their game-changing song “Rusty Cage” turned 20, and Cornell chatted about its creation with us.

Avengers Assemble Soundtrack Track List

  1. “Live to Rise” – Soundgarden
  2. “I’m Alive” – Shinedown
  3. “Dirt and Roses” – Rise Against
  4. “Even If I Could” – Papa Roach
  5. “Unbroken” – Black Veil Brides
  6. “Breath” – Scott Weiland
  7. “Comeback” – Redlight King
  8. “Into the Blue” – Bush
  9. “A New Way to Bleed” (Photek Remix) – Evanescence
  10. “Count Me Out” – PUSHERJONES
  11. “Shoot to Thrill” – Theory of a Deadman
  12. “Wherever I Go” – Buckcherry
  13. “From Out of Nowhere” – Five Finger Death Punch
  14. “Shake the Ground” – Cherri Bomb
  15. “Pistols At Dawn” – Kasabian (international version only)