Skip to content

Record Store Day 2012: Here’s Your Official List of Releases

Carolina Chocolate Drops / Run D.M.C.

News has been trickling in almost daily about who’s releasing what limited-edition 7″ on Record Store Day, but finally, the community of independently owned American record stores have announced the official list of goodies that’ll go onsale exclusively at actual brick-and-mortar shops on April 21 (which, again, falls during Coachella, this time during its second weekend). The list posted at RSD’s website is gargantuan, featuring releases from artists ranging from Aretha Franklin and the Grateful Dead to Beach House and Xiu Xiu (and don’t forget that White Stripes re-release!), but we’ve pulled some of our most anticipated and notable releases for you.

  • Amanda Palmer & the Grand Theft Orchestra: The badass loudmouth will drop a 7″ that includes her cover of Nirvana’s “Polly” that she recorded for SPIN’s Newermind compilation last year.
  • Animal Collective: The gang is dropping a 12″ that includes live and original recordings from the trio’s experimental appearance in March 2010 at New York’s Guggenheim Museum, for which they used a computer program to weave three individually created tracks, producing what can only be described as a multi-stemmed sonic mindfuck. The 12″ will be accompanied by the launch of a website that will allow fans to repeat the band’s experiment with their own tracks.
  • Aretha Franklin/Otis Redding: The soul greats are teaming up to release a 7″ featuring Redding’s original version of “Respect,” with Franklin’s iconic cover of the song as the B-side.
  • Beach House: The duo drops the first physical single from their forthcoming LP Bloom, “Lazuli,” as a white vinyl 7″ with unreleased track “Equal Mind” as B-side.
  • Carolina Chocolate Drops/Run DMC: The old-timey banjo band covers Run DMC’s “You Be Illin'” as the B-side to the original DMC version on 7″ bottle-green vinyl.
  • Dinosaur Jr.: J Mascis and Built to Spill’s Brett Nelson re-imagine and re-record Dino Jr. tracks as what they call The Electronic Anthology Project of Dinosaur Jr, to be released on CD.
  • Lana Del Rey: The blog-bait-y lady drops a remix 7″ that includes “Born to Die” as remixed by Gorillaz/Blur’s Damon Albarn as its A-side and “Blue Jeans” as remixed by Penguin Prison as B-side.
  • Mastodon/Feist: The Feistodon 7″ arriveth.
  • The Smiths: The saddest band gets a little sleepy: this LP is a collection of the Smiths’ greatest hits reimagined as lullabies. Let the indoctrination of our children begin.
  • Various Artists: The soundtracks for Pretty in Pink, The Breakfast Club, and Empire Records are all getting the RSD vinyl rerelease treatment!