Skip to content

New Amy Winehouse Album ‘Lioness’ Due in December


Amy Winehouse’s first posthumous album, Amy Winehouse Lioness: Hidden Treasures, is due out December 5 via Island Records. Assembled by producers Mark Ronson and Salaam Remi, the 12-track set contains previously unreleased songs along with alternate versions of her previous hits.

The unreleased tracks include “Halftime” and a cover of bossa nova standard “The Girl From Ipanema,” both of which date back to the 2002 sessions for Winehouse’s debut album, Frank. “Like Smoke” is a duet with Nas that came about following Winehouse’s mention of the rapper on “Me & Mr. Jones,” from 2006 sophomore album Back to Black. “Between the Cheats” is a new song recorded in May 2008 as a potential selection for her third album.

Lioness will also feature covers of the Shirelles’ “Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow,” Donny Hathaway’s “A Song for You” (originally written and recorded by Leon Russell), and a reggae take on Ruby & the Romantics’ ’60s doo-wop song “Our Day Will Come.” Alternate versions of previously released tracks include a demo of Back to Black‘s “Wake Up Alone” and slower-paced renditions of “The Tears Dry on Their Own” (also originally from Back to Black) and the single “Valerie” (initially available only on Ronson’s Versions album). “Body and Soul,” the singer’s previously released collaboration with Tony Bennett, will appear, as well.

More information about the release is available via Winehouse’s website. On July 23, the British R&B singer was tragically found dead at age 27, and last week a coroner declared her official cause of death was excessive alcohol.

Lioness Track List:
“Our Day Will Come” (reggae version)
“Between the Cheats”
“Tears Dry” (ballad version)
“Wake Up Alone”
“Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow”
“Like Smoke” featuring Nas
“The Girl From Ipanema”
“Best Friends”
“Body & Soul”
“A Song For You”