News \

Chris Cornell Will Cover John Lennon, Led Zep on ‘Songbook’ LP

Solo LP 'Songbook' due out November 21

That new Soundgarden album isn’t arriving just yet, but the Seattle rockers’ frontman has an LP of his own on the way later this year. Chris Cornell will release a new album titled Songbook on November 21 that consists of acoustic performances from his ongoing solo tour. The track list, which you can check out below, features songs from Cornell’s previous groups — Soundgarden, Audioslave, and Temple of the Dog — along with covers of Led Zeppelin’s “Thank You” and John Lennon’s “Imagine.”

As for acoustic shows, Cornell told SPIN earlier this year, “I think Johnny Cash was quoted as saying, ‘It’s the scariest thing you could do as a musician.’ ” Here’s Cornell on The Late Show With David Letterman performing “The Keeper,” the track he wrote for Mark Forster’s Machine Gun Preacher, which closes the new record. Also, Stereogum tracked down the previously unreleased “Cleaning My Gun.”

Songbook track list:
1. “As Hope and Promise Fade”
2. “Scar on the Sky”
3. “Call Me a Dog”
4. “Ground Zero”
5. “Can’t Change Me”
6. “I Am the Highway”
7. “Thank You”
8. “Cleaning My Gun”
9. “Wide Awake”
10. “Fell on Black Days”
11. “All Night Thing”
12. “Doesn’t Remind Me”
13. “Like a Stone”
14. “Black Hole Sun”
15. “Imagine”
16. “The Keeper”