Skip to content

Pearl Jam: Rarities, Live Songs on Doc Soundtrack


Now this is reason to celebrate Pearl Jam’s 20th anniversary: The veteran Seattle band just released the official tracklist for their soundtrack to Twenty, a documentary film about the quintet directed by Cameron Crowe (Almost Famous, Singles), and it’s loaded with goodies.

Split over two discs, the Twenty compilation features 15 live recordings (on disc one) and 15 B-sides, demos, and rarities (on disc two) that spans the band’s career. It’s scheduled to drop stateside on September 20, the same day the documentary premieres in movie theatres nationwide.

The Twenty tracklist was released piecemeal via a scavenger hunt, which began Thursday, August 18. Clues were released every half-hour online via Facebook and Twitter and in real-life locales like New York’s Time Square. Before the movie and soundtrack’s release, a book featuring a foreword by Crowe as well as interviews with Bruce Springsteen, Neil Young, and Dave Grohl, among others, will drop on September 12.

Among Twenty‘s special treats is “Crown of Thorns,” a track originally written and performed by Mother Love Bone, the late ’80s Seattle band that included future PJ bassist Jeff Ament and guitarist Stone Gossard. Recorded at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas on October 22, 2000, the cover song was released online earlier this week. Listen below.

Pearl Jam will celebrate their 20th anniversary with a music festival also featuring the Strokes, Queens of the Stone Age, and others. Get details here. Watch the trailer for Twenty here.

Pearl Jam, “Crown of Thorns”
1-11 Crown Of Thorns by pj20

Pearl Jam Twenty Official Soundtrack:

Disc One, Pearl Jam Twenty
1. Release – Verona, Italy 9-16-06
2. Alive – Moore Theatre, Seattle 12-22-90
3. Garden – Zurich, Switzerland 2-19-92
4. Why Go – Hamburg, Germany 3-10-92
5. Black – MTV Unplugged, NYC 3-16-92
6. Blood – Auckland, New Zealand 3-25-95
7. Last Exit – Taipei, Taiwan, 2-24-95
8. Not For You – Manila, Philippines 2-26-95
9. Do The Evolution – Monkeywrench Radio, Seattle 1-31-98
10. Thumbing My Way – Chop Suey, Seattle 9-6-02
11. Crown Of Thorns – 10th Anniversary, Las Vegas, NV 10-22-00
12. Let Me Sleep – Arena di Verona Steps, Verona, Italy 9-16-06
13. Walk With Me (w/Neil Young) Bridge School Benefit, Mountain View, CA 10-23-10
14. Just Breathe – SNL, Rockefeller Center, New York City 3-13-10

Disc Two, Rarities and Inspiration
1. Say Hello 2 Heaven – Temple of the Dog Demo, 1990
2. Times Of Trouble – Demo 1990
3. Acoustic #1 – Demo 1991
4. It Ain’t Like That – Demo 1990
5. Need To Know – Demo 2007
6. Be Like Wind – McCready Score 2010
7. Given To Fly – McCready Instrumental 2010
8. Nothing As It Seems – Demo 1999
9. Nothing As It Seems – Seattle, 10-22-01
10. Indifference – Bologna, Italy 9-14-06
11. Of The Girl – Instrumental 2000
12. Faithfull – Pistoia, Italy 9-20-06 (Soundcheck)
13. Bu$hleaguer – Nassau, NY 4-30-03
14. Better Man – New York City 5-21-10
15. Rearviewmirror – Universal City, CA 10-1-09