News \

Oasis’ Noel Gallagher to Release Solo Album

The British singer's 'Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds' will hit this fall, with a second record to follow in early 2012.

While Liam Gallagher tours with his new band Beady Eye, his brother Noel is launching his solo career – two years after splitting with Oasis. The British songwriter will release his debut album, Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds, this fall, he announced in London Wednesday. The album, helmed by Oasis producer David Sardy, features ten new tracks recorded over the last year in London and Los Angeles. It will be released in the U.K. on October 17 via Noel’s newly formed imprint Sour Mash Records; a U.S. date will be announced shortly. Check out the tracklist below.

Noel also revealed that he has a second album already in the bag, which he plans to release in early 2012. Expect his solo music to have a more electronic vibe: Amorphous Androgynous, the British duo featuring Garry Cobain and Brian Dougans of the pioneering electro act Future Sound of London, will serve as backing musicians. “There are echoes of Oasis, but there’s no guitar until the sixth song,” Gallagher said.

He added that he plans to tour once the album is released, performing classic Oasis tracks along with his new solo material. “I’m proud of them and of what they mean to people,” he said. “I’ll never do a gig without playing them. They’re like drugs to me.”

Noel and Liam Gallagher, who released seven studio albums as Oasis since forming in 1991, famously broke up in August 2009 when they got in a fight backstage before their performance at Paris’ Rock en Seine Festival. “He’d been acting like an old granny throughout the tour and he felt that I’d been a dick,” Liam told SPIN earlier this year. “We came to blows and that was the end of it.”

Don’t expect the two to patch things up anytime soon. “He’s better off without me because he’s in charge now,” Noel said at today’s press conference. “Whether I’m better off without him remains to be seen.”

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds Tracklisting:
1. “Everybody’s on the Run”
2. “Dream On”
3. “If I Had a Gun…”
4. “The Death of You and Me”
5. “(I Wanna Live in a Dream in My) Record Machine”
6. “AKA…What a Life!”
7. “Soldier Boys and Jesus Freaks”
8. “AKA…Broken Arrow”
9. “(Stranded on) The Wrong Beach”
10. “Stop the Clocks”