Skip to content

Grizzly Bear Recording, Modest Mouse Tribute + More

  • Grizzly Bear have begun work their fourth record, their first since 2009’s Veckatimest. “Towards the end of this month we head to Texas and continue writing new songs and begin recording new album!” the band announced on their Facebook page.

  • KCRW radio has a premiere of Modest Mouse‘s contribution to the forthcoming Buddy Holly tribute album, Rave On Buddy Holly (out June 28), which also features Black Keys covering “Dearest,” along with music by Florence + the Machine, My Morning Jacket, and others. Head to their site to stream the song (scan forward to the six minute mark).

  • DJ Shadow‘s fourth album, titled The Less You Know the Better, will be released in the U.K. on September 5. (A U.S. date has not been announced.) It’s Josh Davis‘ first album since 2006’s The Outsider. Shadow has also released a single titled I Gotta Rokk, which you can hear over at Some Kind of Awesome. That track is featured on an the I Gotta Rokk EP, available now.

  • Neil Young has tapped Jonathan Demme to film the last show of his Le Noise tour, which wrapped May 10 at Toronto, ON’s Massey Hall, for an upcoming concert documentary. The film — the third Young movie to be directed by Demme — will be released later this year, according to a press release.

  • Organizers for the Bruise Cruise Festival have announced early headliners for next year’s edition: Thee Oh Sees, The Soft Pack, King Khan and the Shrines, and others will play the 2012 fest, which features bands performing on a cruise from Miami, FL, to Nassau, Bahamas. It takes place February 10-13. [Bruise Cruise]

  • Arcade Fire have revealed details of their deluxe edition of The Suburbs, out August 2. In addition to an extended version of album track “Wasted Hours (A Life That We Can Live),” the reissue will feature two new bonus tracks: “Culture War” and “Speaking in Tongues,” which features a guest spot from David Byrne. [Pitchfork]

  • Jamie Lidell has teamed up with Beck for a remix of Lidell’s track “Completely Exposed,” from his 2010 album Compass.Download it in the widget below.