Skip to content

FREE MP3 MIXTAPE: The Best of CMJ 2010


October 19-23 brings the CMJ Music Marathon, the annual New York City event where more than 1,200 bands — most of them hopeful up-and-comers — showcase their skills throughout the city’s network of music venues. SPIN editors have sorted through the crowd to select 30 bands poised for breakout moments at CMJ 2010 — check out our full preview here — and compiled songs from 29 of them into a handy, FREE downloadable compilation.

SPIN’s Subway Tracks: A CMJ 2010 Mixtape compilation features songs from CMJ performers vying to be the next Surfer Blood, Best Coast, Bear in Heaven, or Neon Indian — all of whom made our must-hear list in 2009, and followed with big success in 2010. Download your free copy of Subway Tracks by clicking “GET IT NOW” in the widget below:

To stay on top of everything festival-related, be sure to login to for recaps, amazing photos, and more from New York.

SPIN Presents Subway Tracks Tracklisting:
1. DOM, “Living in America”
2. Cloud Nothings, “Hey Cool Kid”
3. Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr., “Nothing But Our Love”
4. Small Black, “Photojournalist”
5. Dominique Young Unique, “The World Is Mine”
6. Dominant Legs, “Clawing Out at the Walls”
7. S. Carey, “In the Stream”
8. Dylan LeBlanc, “If Time Was For Wasting”
9. Bad Books, “You Wouldn’t Have to Ask”
10. Wild Nothing, “Chinatown”
11. Turbo Fruits, “Mama’s Mad Cos I Fried My Brain”
12. ZAMBRI, “Carry”
13. Francis and the Lights, “Knees to the Floor”
14. How to Dress Well, “Ecstasy with Jojo”
15. The Drums, “Down By the Water”
16. Champagne Champagne, “I Fell Through”
17. Eternal Summers, “Pogo”
18. No Joy, “Heedless”
19. Fake Problems, “Soulless”
20. Pomegranates, “50’s”
21. Ty Segall, “Caesar”
22. Lia Ices, “Grown Unknown”
23. Quest for Fire, “Psychic Seasons”
24. Tamaryn, “Love Fade”
25. Prince Rama, “Lightening Fossil”
26. Freddie Gibbs, Live By the Game
27. Teenage Bottlerocket, “Bigger Than KISS”
28. Reggie Watts, “Butter + Toast”
29. Morning Teleportation, “Expanding Anyway”

Sorry, this album is no longer available for download.