Skip to content

EXCLUSIVE: Preview Lil Wayne’s New Album


Lil Wayne won’t get out of prison until November 5, but he’s got a new album that’s set to drop on September 27. It’s been previously reported that the new release, titled I Am Not a Human Being, was going to be an EP’s length of material, but the rapper’s manager Cortez Bryant tells that it will actually be a full album.

What’s more, many of the tracks on Human Being, which Wayne cut before going to jail, were “approved” to be included on his hugely anticipated Tha Carter IV but will be released now so that Wayne can fill IV with new music instead. “I know once he got out [of jail] those songs would be so old to him,” Bryant explains.

Below, check out our breakdown of some of key tracks from Human Being, the video for the title track, and a complete tracklisting.

Bryant also updated SPIN about Wayne’s jail stint, saying that the rapper is holding up fine in Rikers Island, where he was sent for a weapons possession charge in March. Wayne has kept busy working on new material, writing down lyrics in a notebook for new tracks that he’ll record when he gets out. “He hasn’t written anything down since 2002 or 2003,” says Bryant, adding that Wayne’s been listening to radio stations like Hot 97.

Bryant says the notoriously workaholic Wayne will immediately hit the studio once he gets released and that he will most likely release another mixtape of material before turning his attention to Tha Carter IV, which Bryant now estimates won’t hit stores until next year.

“He’s going to probably start from scratch,” says Bryant. “I know how he records-he’s in the studio every single day. That’s his life.”

As for I Am Not a Human, the album sounds like classic Lil Wayne: heavily auto-tuned vocals, drugged-out beats and loads of guest spots from his Cash Money and Young Money roster. Here are a few highlights:

“Young Money Salute,” featuring Lil Chuckee, Lil Twist and Nicki Minaj, is a banging, minor-key anthem, with Minaj doling out lines like “Camouflage me ‘cus Young Money is a navy.”

“I Am Not a Human Being” mixes a heavy boom-bap with distorted guitar riffs–a rock sound similar to the one he tackled on Rebirth.

“What’s Wrong With Them” crosses choppy synth melodies reminiscent of Wayne’s smash “Lollipop” with Wayne boasting, “Fuck the system and the pussy and all that.”

“With You,” an R&B-style collaboration with Drake, is a hilarious ballad about seducing a Native-American woman. “Tall glass of Merlot get her in the mode,” he raps. “Two tall glasses of Merlot get her out her robe.”

What do you think of Wayne’s post-prison plans and new album I Am Not a Human Being? Sound off in the comments below.

1. “Gonorrhea” featuring Drake?
2. “Hold Up” featuring T-Streets
3. “With You” featuring Drake
4. “I Am Not a Human Being”
5. “I’m Single” featuring Drake
6. “What’s Wrong With Them” featuring Nicki Minaj
7. “Right Above It” featuring Drake
8. “Popular” featuring Lil Twist
9. “That Ain’t Me” featuring Jay Sean
10. “Bill Gates”
11. “Young Money Banger” featuring Jae Millz, Gudda Gudda, and Tyga
12. “Young Money Salute” featuring Lil Twist, Lil Chuckee, Gudda Gudda, Jae Millz, and Nicki Minaj

WATCH: Lil Wayne, “I Am Not a Human Being”