Skip to content

DOWNLOAD: Of Montreal Debut First New Song!


“Coquet Coquette,” the lead single from Of Montreal’s upcoming 10th studio album False Priest (out September 14), shows the band upgrading their low-fi psychedelic sound. Download it here (in exchange for your email address).

“The fidelity is more massive than anything I’ve ever done before,” frontman Kevin Barnes told SPIN of the album, which features appearances from Janelle Monae and Solange Knowles. It was recorded with offbeat producer Jon Brion (Fiona Apple, Aimee Mann, Kanye West) at Los Angeles’ high-tech Ocean Way Recording, a first for the Athens, GA, band, who have used budget home studios for the first 14 years of their career.

The upgrade is immediately apparent on “Coquet Coquette”: the surf guitars ring bright, the drum rolls crash with added force, and the funk bass is impeccable.

Explained Barnes of the album’s point of view: “If Philip K. Dick was a black soul singer in the ’70s, what kind of songs would he write? Or, If William S. Burroughs was a black songwriter from the ’70s what kind of song would he write?”

The cover art for False Priest was designed by Barnes’ brother David Barnes and his wife, Nina Barnes.

Tell us what you think of “Coquet Coquette” in the comment section.

False Priest tracklist:
1. “I Feel Ya’ Strutter?”
2. “Our Riotous Defects” [ft. Janelle Monáe]?
3. “Coquet Coquette”?
4. “Godly Intersex?”
5. “Enemy Gene” [ft. Janelle Monáe]
?6. “Hydra Fancies?”
7. “Like a Tourist?”
8. “Sex Karma” [ft. Solange Knowles]?9. “Girl Named Hello”?
10. “Famine Affair”?
11. “Casualty of You?”
12. “Around the Way?”
13. “You Do Mutilate?”

Tour dates:
7/25, Jackson, MI (Land of Nod Experiment?)
7/30, Montreal, Quebec (Osheaga Festival?)
7/31, Burlington, VT (Higher Ground?)
8/1, Asheville, NC (Orange Peel?)
8/7, Lake Worth, FL (Bryan Park / Lake Worth — Kevin Barnes solo)