Skip to content

Billie Joe Inducts the Stooges to Rock Hall!


Iggy Pop joined rock’s elite at a black-tie ceremony Wednesday night at New York City’s Waldorf-Astoria Hotel, and — no surprise — he did so without his shirt on.

Pop’s Detroit-bred proto-punks the Stooges were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, along with the Hollies, Abba, Genesis, and reggae star Jimmy Cliff.

Each artist was inducted by a like-minded musician. Green Day’s Billie Joe Armstrong presented the honor to the Stooges and later joined them onstage — along with Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder — for a raucous rendition of “I Wanna Be Your Dog.”

“Roll over Woodstock,” Pop said. “We won!”

According to the AP, the Stooges were touched by the award, with drummer Scott Asheton paying tribute to his brother and bandmate, late guitarist Ron Asheton, who died last year from a heart attack. Pop fought back tears as he thanked his bandmates for reuniting to record and tour.

“Here we are in the belly of the beast — a lot of power and money in this room,” he said. “It’s a big industry. If it makes the right decisions, it will stay an industry. Music is life, and life is not a business.”

Other presenters included Trey Anastasio of Phish, who inducted Genesis and performed two of their songs, “Watcher of the Skies” and “No Reply at All.”

Bruce Springsteen’s guitarist Steve Van Zandt inducted the Hollies — the Brits behind hits like “Bus Stop” and “Carrie-Anne” — saying songwriters Allan Clarke and Graham Nash’s “exquisite English harmonies were second, or shared only by the Beatles.”

Wyclef Jean inducted Cliff, while the Bee Gees’ Barry and Robin Gibb welcomed Abba, the Swede hit-makers responsible for “Dancing Queen.”

Other inductees included music executive David Geffen and a handful of songwriters from the 1950s and ’60s: Barry Mann & Cynthia Weil (“You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin'”), Ellie Greenwich & Jeff Barry (“Leader of the Pack,” “Be My Baby”), Otis Blackwell (“All Shook Up,” “Don’t Be Cruel”), Mort Shuman (“Save the Last Dance for Me”) and Jesse Stone (“Sh-Boom,” “Money Honey”).

Tell us what you think of the new inductees in the comment section below.