Skip to content

WATCH: Pixies Debut ‘Doolittle’ Tour


The re-reunited Pixies kicked off their much-awaited 20th Anniversary Doolittle tour Thursday night with a high-energy 21-song set at Dublin’s Olympia Theater. Check out video below!

Frank Black, Kim Deal and Co. started off, as promised, with four Doolittle-era rarities, including “Monkey Gone to Heaven” B-sides “Dancing The Manta Ray,” “Weird At My School,” and “Manta Ray,” as well as “Here Comes Your Man” B-side “Bailey’s Walk,” before tearing through their 1989 masterpiece’s 15 classic tracks.

“The first time I ever performed this song for anyone, I was at Kim Deal’s apartment,” Frank Black said of “Monkey Gone to Heaven” halfway through the set. “I was showing her some songs and trying to convince her to join my band. I always thought this was the song that convinced Kim Deal to join the Pixies.”

The band — original lead guitarist Joey Santiago and drummer David Lovering included — encored with “Here Comes Your Man” B-sides “Wave of Mutilation (UK Surf)” and “Into the White.”

The Doolittle tour lands stateside on November 4 at the Palladium in Los Angeles. The 14-date U.S. trek is the band’s first since 2005.

WATCH: The Pixies, “Hey”

The Pixies, “Monkey Gone to Heaven”

Pixies setlist: [Via NME]
“Dancing The Manta Ray”
“Bailey’s Walk”
“Weird At My School”
“Manta Ray”
“Wave of Mutilation”
“I Bleed”
“Here Comes Your Man”
“Monkey Gone To Heaven”
“Mr. Grieves”
“Crackity Jones”
“La La Love You”
“No. 13 Baby”
“There Goes My Gun”
“Gouge Away”
“Wave Of Mutilation (UK Surf)”
“Into The White”