Skip to content

Vampire Weekend Announce New Album!


Now here’s a reason to unearth your boat shoes and Polo shirts this winter: New York City-based Columbia grads Vampire Weekend have announced via their website that the foursome’s second album, entitled Contra, will drop January 12, 2010 via XL Records. Hey, there’s nothing like an Ivy League theme party, complete with a new soundtrack, to cure a case of seasonal affective disorder, right!?!

The album — a 10-track affair that follows their self-titled 2008 debut — was recorded in Brooklyn, with keyboardist Rostam Batmanglij on production duties. Details are slim on its sound, but, as previously reported, the former SPIN cover boys are looking to expand on their afro-pop, Paul Simon-indebted shtick.

“There are going to be new sounds,” frontman Ezra Koenig told last spring. “We’re trying to challenge ourselves not to use the same bag of tricks that we used on the first album — different instruments, stuff like that.”

It’s been a busy year for Vampire Weekend. Aside from recording Contra, the group — a viral phenomenon, which blew up in 2007 on the support of ceaseless blog praise — performed at numerous summer festivals, including All Points West and Lollapalooza. Last winter, the boys even teamed up with Patti Smith for a Tibet House Benefit in New York.

Check out Contra‘s album art above. Yes, that foxy blonde is wearing a Polo shirt. Let’s call it cognizant, self-deprecating humor on part of the band.

1. Horchata?
2. White Sky?
3. Holiday?
4. California English?
5. Taxi Cab?
6. Run?
7. Cousins?
8. Giving Up the Gun?
9. Diplomat’s Son?
10. I Think Ur a Contra