DOWNLOAD: Pennywise Cover Hardcore Classic


Singer Jim Lindberg recently announced he was leaving Southern California punk stalwarts Pennywise after a 20-year run to work on a documentary film, among other projects. One of the last recordings he did with the band is a cover of the classic song “We’re Gonna Fight” by an even longer-running hardcore act, Reno, Nevada’s 7 Seconds (available exclusively for download below).

“We’re Gonna Fight” first appeared on 7 Seconds’ 1984 album Walk Together, Rock Together, released on the seminal Los Angeles hardcore label BYO Records. Pennywise contributed their version as part of Let Them Know: The Story of Youth Brigade and BYO Records, a 31-track box set and feature-length documentary chronicling the label’s history. Both will be released September 22.

Peep the trailer for the flick below, in which label founders Mark and Shawn Stern of L.A. band Youth Brigade recall the challenges of creating a thriving punk scene in the shadows of New York and London. And check out the box set’s complete tracklist.

LISTEN: Pennywise, “We’re Gonna Fight”(DOWNLOAD MP3)
WATCH: “Let Them Know” Trailer

Let Them Know: The Story of Youth Brigade and BYO Records:
1. “Young Till I Die,” Bouncing Souls/originally by 7 Seconds
2. “Headlights…Ditch,” Off With Their Heads/originally by Bouncing Souls
3. “No More Lies,” NoFX/originally by Battalion of Saints
4. “Misfortune,” Youth Brigade/originally by SNFU
5. “S.O.S.,” Lagwagon/originally by One Man Army
6. “Believe In Something,” Blue Collar Special/originally by Youth Brigade
7. “Future Dreams,” The Cute Lepers/originally by Upright Citizens
8. “Domination,” Young Governor/originally by Marvelous Mark Youth Youth Youth
9. “Wrecking Crew,” Pulley/originally by Adolescents
10. “We’re Gonna Fight,” Pennywise/originally by 7 Seconds
11. “It’s Empty,” Filthy Thieving Bastards/originally by One Man Army
12. “Dead and Broken,” American Steel/originally by Alkaline Trio
13. “The Ballad Of Johnny X,” Johnny Madcap & The Distractions/originally by Bouncing Souls
14. “Little White God,” In The Red/originally by Leatherface
15. “Fade Away Shark,” Soup/originally by Pegboy
16. “Fight To Unite,” Dropkick Murphys/originally by Youth Brigade
17. “Foreign Policy,” Wednesday Night Heroes/originally by Stretch Marks
18. “1000 Miles,” Anti-Flag/originally by Unseen
19. “Victoria,” Complete Control/originally by One Man Army
20. “We’re In!” Old Man Markley/originally by Youth Brigade
21. “Keep On,” The Ignorant/originally by Hepcat
22. “Piss On You,” Subhumans/originally by Personality Crisis
23. “Scratches & Needles,” Ch3/originally by Nils
24. “Pill Box,” Lower Class Brats/originally by Lower Class Brats
25. “Who Is Who,” The Briefs/originally by Adolescents
26. “Hating Every Minute,” Krum Bums/originally by Alkaline Trio
27. “In The Night,” Ashers/originally by Bad Religion
28. “I Scream,” Matt Skiba/originally by The Brigade
29. “All The Way Nothington,” originally by One Man Army
30. “Doublewhiskeycokenoice,” Leatherface/ originally by Dillinger 4
31. “Sink With California,” 7 Seconds/ originally by Youth Brigade


Scroll to Top