Skip to content

Two Members Quit Panic at the Disco


Two of Panic at the Disco’s four members are leaving the band, according to a post on their official website.

Guitarist Ryan Ross and bassist Jon Walker announced that they are departing the Las Vegas-based emo-pop act to pursue their own project together.

“Though the four of us have made music together in the past, we’ve creatively evolved in different directions which has compromised what each of us want to personally achieve,” the statement read. “Over the years, we have remained close and honest with each other, which helped us to realize that our goals were different and that parting ways is truly what is best for each of us. We are all excited for the future, you should be too.”

Frontman Brendon Urie and drummer Spencer Smith will continue under the Panic at the Disco name, and plan to go ahead with their 12 announced tour dates this summer as an opening act on the Blink-182 reunion tour, beginning August 4 in Milwaukee, WI.

Founding members Ross, Smith, and Urie have been friends since their early teens, while Walker joined the band in 2006 after the departure of original bassist Brent Wilson.