Skip to content

Strokes Singer Julian Casablancas Announces Solo Album


The Strokes haven’t released an album since 2006, but frontman Julian Casablancas has kept busy nonetheless. Whether he’s collaborating with Gnarls Barkley mastermind Danger Mouse or the guys from Saturday Night Live, the line “feat. Julian Casablancas” has cropped up regularly on iTunes. And now the garage rock poster boy is branching out on his own with Phrazes for the Young, his debut solo album out this fall.

For those keeping track, that makes him the fourth Stroke to go solo, following guitarist Albert Hammond, Jr., bassist Nikolai Fraiture,and drummer Fabrizio Moretti.

Casablancas previews the disc on his website with a short film (watch it below) that cryptically proclaims, “Drunkenness is cowardice. Sobriety is loneliness,” alongside a series of zany special effects of city skylines and bee hives. Some futuristic synth music plays in the background.

Casablancas recorded the album’s eight songs over the past year with producer Jason Leder (Elvis Costello, Jenny Lewis). The full tracklist hasn’t been released, but titles include “River of Break Lights,” “Glass,” and “Ludlow St.”

Casablancas is planning a solo tour of the states to coincide with the album’s release this fall.