Skip to content

Unreleased Against Me! Album Due in July


Against Me!’s 2007 release New Wave nabbed SPIN’s Album of the Year stamp, and thrust the foursome into the rock limelight with its politically-charged lyrics and punk ferocity. And while the band prep its proper follow-up, they’re holding us over with a special eight-song EP, out July 7 via Fat Wreck Chords.

The Original Cowboy EP was recorded in July 2003 as a demo for producer Rob McGregor (Hot Water Music, Alkaline Trio), who worked with the band on their full-length studio album, As the Eternal Cowboy. It features eight previously unreleased demos, plus alternate versions of many songs that made the cut for Cowboy.

“Having already recorded our first full length album and two previous EPs with Rob at Goldentone, we wanted to do something different for our second full length,” frontman Tom Gabel explains in a post on the Fat Wreck website. “We specifically wanted to make an all-analog recording with as few overdubs as possible. We wanted to make sure Rob was familiar with the songs, so we made this demo recording. The Original Cowboy was only meant to be a trial run, but, listening to it today, there’s a part of me that feels foolish for ever recording these songs a second time.”

Below, check out the tracklist for The Original Cowboy. Then saddle up in the comments section.

The Original Cowboy tracklist:
1. “A Brief Yet Triumphant Introduction/Cliche Guevarra”
2. “Mutiny On The Electronic Bay”
3. “T.S.R”
4. “Rice and Bread”
5. “Cavalier Eternal”
6. “Unsubstantiated Rumors”
7. “Slurring the Rhythms”
8. “You Look Like I Need a Drink/ Turn Those Clapping Hands Into Angry Balled Fists”