Skip to content
News’s Best of the Week


This week’s top stories featured more comebacks than the Rocky film franchise: Eminem announced he will end a five-year absence with two new albums, Michael Jackson detailed a 10-date performance series in the U.K., and Clap Your Hands Say Yeah emerged from their “hiatus” to offer a new track. Scandal-embroiled singer Chris Brown even got back together with Rihanna, before being charged in Los Angeles with assault.

All these, plus the week’s best audio/video, news, and reviews below.TOP STORIES:

Chris Brown Charged with Felony Assault

Read gruesome details about the alleged altercation with Rihanna, taken from the police report. Read >>PLUS:

  • Rihanna and Chris Brown: The Reunion Read >>
  • Michael Jackson Announces London Concerts Read >>
  • Eminem to Release Two Albums This YearRead >>
  • Clap Your Hands Say Yeah Return! Read >>


Best of Noise Pop Music Fest

See the best pics from the five-day San Francisco event Read >>PLUS:


New Video: Lil’ Wayne Gets Revenge!

Like Carrie but with less pig’s blood and more guitar solos. Watch here! Read >>PLUS:

  • Free Download: Pete Doherty Goes SoloRead >>
  • New Song: PJ Harvey’s “Black Hearted Love” Read >>
  • Album Preview: Sonic Youth’s ‘The Eternal’ Read >>
  • Watch: Sublime Reunite with New Singer Read >>


Exclusive: Doves Announce First U.S. Tour in 4 Years

Anthemic British rock trio map 18 dates in support of their April 7 release, Kingdom of Rust. Click here for details! Read >>PLUS:

  • FREE: No Doubt’s Entire Catalogue to Concertgoers Read >>
  • Gay Rap: Straight Outta the Closet Read >>
  • U2 To Release Second Album This Year Read >>
  • Yeah Yeah Yeahs Rush Out New Album Read >>


U2, No Line on the Horizon

With a boost from his rejuvenated mates, Bono rediscovers his calling.Read >>PLUS:

  • Neko Case, ‘Middle Cyclone’ (Anti-)Read >>
  • The Prodigy, ‘Invaders Must Die’ (Cooking Vinyl)Read >>
  • Mavado, ‘Mr. Brooks…A Better Tomorrow’ (VP)Read >>
  • Grandmaster Flash, ‘The Bridge’ (Adrenaline/Strut) Read >>
  • The Soundtrack of Our Lives, ‘Communion’ (Yep Roc)Read >>
  • Say Hi, ‘Oohs and Aahs’ (Barsuk) Read >>
  • Marissa Nadler, ‘Little Hells’ (Kemado) Read >>
  • Boston Spaceships, ‘The Planets Are Blasted’ (Guided by Voices Inc.)Read >>
  • Cazals, ‘What of Our Future’ (Kitsune/The Hours/Fontana) Read >>
  • The Whip, ‘X Marks Destination’ (Razor & Tie)Read >>