Skip to content

Listen to Ben Lee’s New Single


Australian singer/songwriter Ben Lee will release his seventh record, The Rebirth of Venus, on Feb. 10, 2009. But, dear fans, you don’t have to wait three months to hear the album’s lead single — it’s available below!

The Rebirth of Venus, the follow-up to 2007’s Ripe, is Lee’s homage to Venus, the Goddess of Love and Beauty. Lee says the album grapples with female qualities such as “compassion, nurturing, creativity, tenderness, and warmth,” and its cover recreates Botticelli’s Birth of Venus painting, placing the singer in the clamshell.

In addition to celebrating the feminine mystique through his music, Lee will donate a part of the album’s proceeds to FINCA’s Village Banking program, which offers services to low-income female entrepreneurs.

We always knew he was a ladies man!

Below, listen to the shiny pop gem “What’s So Wrong (About Feeling Good),” which features Lee on the guitar, a pots and pans solo, and a hedonistic vocal bridge: “No guilt, all pleasure!”

Listen: Ben Lee, “What’s So Bad (About Feeling Good)”

The Rebirth of Venus tracklist:
1. “What’s So Bad (About Feeling Good)”
2. “Surrender”
3. “Sing”
4. “I Love Pop Music”
5. “Rise Up”
6. “Yoko Ono”
7. “Boy With A Barbie”
8. “Bad Poetry”
9. “Blue Denim”
10. “Wake Up To America”
11. “I’m A Woman Too”
12. “Families Cheating At Board Games”
13. “Song For The Divine Mother of the Universe”