Skip to content



What? Accuse Deerhoof of whatever you want — just don’t say they do the same thing twice. From the noise-blasted pop of 2002’s breakthrough Reveille and the following year’s Apple O’, to the jagged minimalism of 2005’s masterwork The Runners Four and the spaced-out orchestral grandeur of 2007’s Friend Opportunity, the San Franciscan quartet have made a successful career out of musical left turns. Next Tuesday, the fearsome foursome return with Offend Maggie, a record jam-packed with enough jarring time signatures, disquieting vocals, and subversive pop melodies to make your head spin — in a good way.

Who? Since signing with venerable indie label Kill Rock Stars in 1995, Deerhoof have experienced numerous lineup changes, most notably 1996’s addition of Satomi Matsuzaki on vocals and the departure of guitarist Chris Cohen in 2006.In addition to releasing an album almost every year since ’96 and adhering to a rigorous touring regiment, Deerhoof also recorded the soundtrack for Tropic Thunder scribe Justin Theroux’s 2006 directorial debut, Dedication. Currently, Deerhoof is comprised of Matsuzaki (vocals/bass), John Dieterich (guitar), Ed Rodriguez (guitar), and Greg Saunier (percussion).

Fun Fact: Upon joining Deerhoof, Matsuzaki lacked any musical experience or training whatsoever — a stark contrast, indeed, to Saunier’s classical training.

Now Hear This: Deerhoof, “Offend Maggie”