Skip to content

New Smiths Record to Arrive Soon


A full-fledged reunion certainly isn’t in the cards, but that’s not stopping former frontman Morrissey and guitarist Johnny Marr from collaborating on a forthcoming album from Manchester’s kings of mope, the Smiths.

The Sound of the Smiths: The Very Best of the Smiths, a two-disc collection of hits, rarities, and more, will be released November 4 via Winedark, reports. Morrissey chose the title of the compilation, while former SPIN cover star Johnny Marr supervised the record’s mastering. The Sound of the Smiths will be released in two formats: as a single-disc edition spanning the group’s career of hits and beloved tunes, and as a double-disc package chock full of live cuts and rarities. Longtime Smiths fans may be peeved with the tracklist (what, no “Accept Yourself”?), but take heed — some subtle begging might do the trick.

The Sound of the Smiths: The Very Best of the Smiths tracklisting:
Disc 1:
1. “Hand In Glove”
2. “This Charming Man”
3. “What Difference Does It Make?” (John Peel Session)
4. “Still Ill”
5. “Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now”
6. “William, It Was Really Nothing”
7. “How Soon Is Now?” (12-inch vinyl version)
8. “NowhereFast”
9. “Shakespeare’s Sister”
10. “Barbarism Begins At Home” (7-inch vinyl version)
11. “That Joke Isn’t Funny Anymore”
12. “The Headmaster Ritual”
13. “The Boy With The Thorn In His Side”
14. “Bigmouth Strikes Again”
15. “There Is A Light That Never Goes Out”
16. “Panic”
17. “Ask”
18. “You Just Haven’t Earned It Yet, Baby”
19. “Shoplifters of the World Unite”
20. “Sheila Take A Bow”
21. “Girlfriend in a Coma”
22. “I Started Something I Couldn’t Finish”
23. “Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me”
Disc 2:
1. “Jeane”
2. “Handsome Devil” (Live)
3. “This Charming Man” (New York Vocal)
4. “Wonderful Woman”
5. “Back To The Old House”
6. “These Things Take Time”
7. “Girl Afraid”
8. “Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want”
9. “Stretch Out And Wai”
10. “Oscillate Wildly”
11. “Meat Is Murder” (Live)
12. “Asleep”
13. “Money Changes Everything”
14. “The Queen Is Dead”
15. “Vicar In A Tutu”
16. “Cemetry Gates”
17. “Half A Person”
18. “Sweet And Tender Hooligan”
19. “Pretty Girls Make Graves” (Troy Tate Demo)
20. “Stop Me If You Think You’ve Heard This One Before”
21. “What’s The World?” (Live)
22. “Londo” (Live)