Skip to content

Belle and Sebastian Unveil New Album


Seminal Scottish indie-pop outfit Belle and Sebastian may still be on hiatus, but luckily for fans, indie powerhouse label Matador has announced plans to release a collection of the band’s BBC sessions for your listening pleasure, reports.

Featuring recordings made between 1996 and 2001, the aptly titled BBC Sessions is set to drop November 18 and features four highly sought-after rarities: “Shoot the Sexual Athlete,” “The Magic of a Kind Word,” “Nothing in the Silence,” and “(My Girl’s Got) Miraculous Technique.” Initial pressings of the collection will include a second disc of a 2001 Christmas concert recorded in Belfast, featuring covers of the Beatles’ “Here Comes the Sun,” the Velvet Underground’s “I’m Waiting for the Man,” and Thin Lizzy’s “The Boys Are Back in Town.”

BBC Sessions tracklisting:

Disc 1Radio Sessions:
1. “The State I Am In” (Mark Radcliffe Session; 7/96)
2. “Like Dylan in the Movies” (Mark Radcliffe Session; 7/96)
3. “Judy and the Dream of Horses” (Mark Radcliffe Session; 7/96)
4. “The Stars of Track and Field” (Mark Radcliffe Session; 7/96)
5. “I Could Be Dreaming” (Mark Radcliffe session; 12/96; abbreviated version)
6. “Seymour Stein” (Evening Session; 7/97)
7. “Lazy Line Painter Jane” (Evening Session; 7/97)
8. “Sleep the Clock Around” (Evening Session; 7/97)
9. “Slow Graffiti” (Evening Session; 7/97)
10. “Wrong Love” (Evening Session; 7/97)
11. “Shoot the Sexual Athlete” (John Peel session; 5/01)
12. “The Magic of a Kind Word” (John Peel session; 5/01)
13. “Nothing in the Silence” (John Peel session; 5/01)
14. “(My Girl’s Got) Miraculous Technique” (John Peel session; 5/01)

Disc 2Live in Belfast:
1. “Here Comes the Sun”
2. “There’s Too Much Love”
3. “The Magic of a Kind Word”
4. “Me and the Major”
5. “Wandering Alone”
6. “The Model”
7. “I’m Waiting for the Man”
8. “The Boy With the Arab Strap”
9. “The Wrong Girl”
10. “Dirty Dream #2”
11. “The Boys Are Back in Town”
12. “Legal Man”