Skip to content

The Orb, ‘The Dream’ (Six Degrees)

Alex Paterson has been joined by a host of collaborators in the Orb since he invented ambient techno back in the late 1980s. On The Dream, which follows a soberly minimal 2005 album on the German label Kompakt, he works again with Youth, the Verve coproducer (and Killing Joke bassist) who helped create his signature tune, “Little Fluffy Clouds.” But thanks in part to an overly generous 73-minute running time, the reteaming rarely feels vital. How many different ways are there to layer a trippy synth riff over a shuffling beat? Still, tracks like “The Truth Is…” do contain enough chilled-out charm to merit a spin at your next chemically enhanced dinner party.