Skip to content

New Brazilian Girls Album Due Aug. 5


On Aug. 5 the eclectic, world music-tinged act know as Brazilian Girls will — despite their south-of-the-border namesake — return with the band’s most appropriately titled record yet: New York City.

As the Big Apple-based trio’s third full-length to date, the new set — according to a Pitchfork report — will feature contributions from Senegalese singer Baaba Maal and jazz percussionist Kenny Wollesen and his Himalayas. The work of “on hiatus” member Jesse Murphy will be absent; the bassist is taking a break to focus on his new project Sounds for Your Hounds, which he unveiled live for at Coachella ’08.

New York City tracklisting:

1. “St. Petersburg”
2. “Losing Myself”
3. “Berlin”
4. “Strangeboy”
5. “Ricardo”
6. “I Want Out”
7. “L’Interprete”
8. “Good Time”
9. “Internacional”
10. “Nouveau Americain”
11. “Mano de Dios”

More on
Poolside at Coachella ’08: Jesse Murphy
Brazilian Girls, Talk to La Bomb (Verve Forecast)
Live in the Netherlands