Skip to content

New Tricky Album Due Sept. 9; Stereolab Unveil U.S. Tour


After a five-year absence, Brit trip-hopper Tricky will return Sept. 9 with Knowle West Boy, his eighth studio album to date and follow up to 2003’s Vulnerable. Tricky’s new record, named after the Brixton ghetto where he grew up, was recorded in London and Los Angeles, produced by Tricky, a.k.a. Adrian Thaws, himself, and features additional production and mixing work from Switch (M.I.A., Santogold). “Council Estate,” the album’s first single, will drop at a yet-to-be specified date this summer.

Knowle West Boy tracklisting:

1. “Puppy Toy”
2. “Bacative”
3. “Joseph”
4. “Veronica”
5. “C’mon Baby”
6. “Council Estate”
7. “Past Mistake”
8. “Coalition”
9. “Cross to Bear”
10. “Slow”
11. “Baligaga”
12. “Far Away”
13. “School Gates”

In support of their forthcoming record, Chemical Chords, due stateside Aug. 19 via 4AD, blipping and blopping experimental groovers Stereolab have announced a U.S. tour, set to kick off in Costa Mesa, CA Sept. 20. From there, the band will hit cities nationwide — including a three-night stand in New York City — through the end of November. Check out the full itinerary at Pitchfork.

After being thrown out March 21 for failing to meet a state deadline, a second wrongful-death lawsuit issued by the family of deceased rapper Notorious B.I.G. has been reinstated by a federal judge after the family appealed the original dismissal, and judge Florence-Marie Cooper revealed claims supporting the cases’ continuance. The original lawsuit, filed in 2001, alleges wrongful death and civil rights violations, claiming Los Angels Police Department officers were responsible for the March 9, 1997 killing of Notorious B.I.G. The case ended in a mistrial in 2005, but due to new evidence, now remains open. The rapper’s family has 20 days to file a new lawsuit. [Via]