Skip to content

Vampire Weekend, Hold Steady Play Seattle’s Block Party; U2 to Re-Release Albums


Vampire Weekend, the Hold Steady, and Les Savy Fav top the bill for Seattle’s 11th annual Capitol Hill Block Party, slated to hit the city’s Broadway area July 25-26.Girl Talk, Chromeo, Kimya Dawson, the Dodos, and Jay Reatard will also perform, among many others. Tickets for the weekend event, which will also showcase scores of local acts, go on sale April 18 at 10 A.M. PST via with day entry costing $18, and two-day passes running $34.

Seminal Irish rockers U2 have remastered their first three records — 1980’s Boy, 1981’s October, and 1983’s War — and will re-release the albums July 22 via Universal as a standard single disc, a deluxe double edition featuring a disc of B-sides, live tracks and rarities, as well as a vinyl LP package.

Chicago-based pop-punk outfit Alkaline Trio have announced the July 1 release of their sixth album to date, entitled Agony & Irony, out courtesy of Epic. The new 10-track set was recorded in Los Angeles with Josh Abraham (Linkin Park, 30 Seconds to Mars, Slayer) and will be supported by a U.S. tour, which will be announced shortly.

Agony & Irony tracklisting:

1. “Calling All Skeletons”
2. “Help Me”
3. “In Vein”
4. “Over and Out”
5. “I Found Away (feat. Douglas P.)”
6. “Live Young, Die Fast”
7. “Love Love Kiss Kiss”
8. “Lost & Rendered”
9. “Ruin It”
10. “Into the Night”