Skip to content

Fleets Foxes’ Debut Out June 3


After a handful of EPs, a much-publicized sign to local label Sub Pop, loads of online love, and SXSW hype aplenty, Seattle’s Fleet Foxes have finally announced the release of their debut LP: Fleet Foxes will drop June 3.

The debut, which the fivesome — Robin Pecknold (vocals, guitar), Skyler Skjelset (guitar), Casey Westcott (keyboards), Nick Peterson (drums, formerly of Pedro the Lion), and Christian Wargo (bass) — recorded with producer Phil Ek (Band of Horses, Built to Spill, the Shins), is set to deliver their orchestral, folk-pop harmonies.

“We grew up listening to the music of our parents,” Pecknold said of the band’s influences in a statement. “The Beach Boys, Simon & Garfunkel, the Zombies, Joni Mitchell, Fairport Convention, Steeleye Span, Love, Marvin Gaye, Bach, Crosby Stills & Nash, Bob Dylan, Buffalo Springfield, and every other perennial ’60s band you’d expect to find in the record collections of baby boomers.”

To hold you over until the record’s release, catch Fleet Foxes previewing new material on the road now with Blitzen Trapper (see dates here!), or at Washington State’s Sasquatch! Music and Arts Festival this May.

Watch video of Fleet Foxes at Bumbershoot 2007.

Fleet Foxes tracklisting:

1. “Sun It Rises”
2. “White Winter Hymnal”
3. “Ragged Wood”
4. “Tiger Mountain Peasant Song”
5. “Quiet Houses”
6. “He Doesn’t Know Why”
7. “Heard Them Stirring”
8. “Your Protector”
9. “Meadowlarks”
10, “Blue Ridge Mountains”
11. “Oliver James”