News \

News Roundup: Tokyo Police Club, Be Your Own Pet, She & Him, Amy Winehouse

Tokyo boys unveil LP details, Be Your Own Pet tour, M. Ward and Zooey Deschanel team for record, and Winehouse's continued drug/legal issues.

In preparation for the release of their sophomore LP, Get Awkward, arriving March 17 on Sonic Youth principal Thurston Moore’s Ecstatic Peace imprint, Nashville’s youthful rockers Be Your Own Pethave mapped a 10-date spring outing, set to kick off in New York Feb.20. From there, Be Your Own Pet will hit major markets nationwide,showing off their new tunes, and colorful, bouncy hairdos. [Via]

Be Your Own Pet tour dates:

2/20, New York, NY (Mercury Lounge)
2/21, Hoboken, NJ (Maxwell’s)
2/29, San Diego, CA (The Casbah)
3/1, Pomona, CA (Glasshouse)
3/2, Costa Mesa, CA (The Detroit Bar)
3/4, Los Angeles, CA (El Rey Theatre)
3/5, San Francisco, CA (The Independent)
3/7, Portland, OR (Doug Fir Lounge)
3/8, Vancouver, BC (The Plaza)
3/9, Seattle, WA (Neumo’s)

Afterthe release of a handful of EPs, culling loads of hype both on and offthe blogosphere, north-of-the-border post-punk wunderkinds Tokyo Police Club have finally unveiled Elephant Shell, their debut LP slated to arrive stateside at a yet-to-be specified date in late April via Saddle Creek. Yay! After our little chat backstage at Lollapalooza, we here at were getting all anxious!

Elephant Shell tracklisting:

1. “Centennial”
2. “In a Cave”
3. “Graves”
4. “Juno”
5. “Tessellate”
6. “Sixties Remake”
7. “The Harrowing Adventures Of…”
8. “Nursery Academy”
9. “Your English Is Good”
10. “Listen to the Math”
11. “The Baskervilles”

Actress Zooey Deschanel and songsmith M. Ward, the newfound musical duo known very simply as She & Him, will release Volume 1,their debut set recorded “over a period of several months betweenacting work and touring commitments,” respectively, set to arrive March18 via Merge. Birthed from Ward’s role in a film soundtrack involvingDeschanel, She & Him’s debut was recorded in Portland, OR entirelyanalog, and features nine original tracks, as well as two covers –Ronnie Spector’s “I Was Made For You” and the Beatles’ “I Should HaveKnown Better.” The duo’s relationship — romantic? — will come tofruition on stage at San Francisco’s Noise Pop, and just weeks later at none of other than SXSW; sheesh, that lineup is lookin’ awfullly nice ’bout now.

She & Him tour dates:

3/2, San Francisco, CA (Noise Pop)
3/14, Austin, TX (The Paris/Merge Records SXSW showcase) Volume 1 tracklisting:

1. “Sentimental Heart”
2. “Why Do You Let Me Stay Here?”
3. “This Is Not a Test”
4. “Change Is Hard”
5. “I Thought I Saw Your Face Today”
6. “Take It Back”
7. “I Was Made For You”
8. “You Really Got a Hold On Me”
9. “Black Hole”
10. “Got Me”
11. “I Should Have Known Better”

Despite pressure from family and friends, Amy Winehouse’sstance on rehab stands solid: “no, no, no.” The Brit songbird, caughton camera, um, smoking crack, and snorting cocaine and ecstasyyesterday (Jan. 22), visited a treatment facility in the aftermath foronly two hours, and her spokesperson affirms she has not entered aprogram. But it might be a good idea: London police have confiscatedthe tape and are looking to add to Winehouse’s perverting the course of justice charges, and, as Pete Doherty knows well, judges are soft on attempts at rehab. Suppose this delays that Marley extravaganza out in Jamaica…? [Via]

Tags: Music News