News \

News Roundup: Portishead, R.E.M., Moldy Peaches, the Night Marchers

Portishead unveil album title and release date, R.E.M. film music video, the Moldy Peaches sell toothpaste, and the Night Marchers march ahead.

For the follow up to 1997’s self-titled sophomore album, recently reunited Brit trance rockers Portishead — a main attraction at Coachella — have again chosen simplicity in a title: Third, an 11-track set running 49 minutes and 13 seconds, will, as we already sorta knew, drop internationally April 14 via Island. Sadly, a U.S. date has yet-to-be announced. [Via Pitchfork]

R.E.M.‘s Michael Stipe has always been something of a sex symbol, and his relationship with restaurateurs is well documented,so it should come as no surprise that the outfit took to both a NewYork sex shop and eatery to film their music video for “SupernaturalSerious,” the first single from their forthcoming album, Accelerate, due April 1 courtesy of Warner Bros. Food and sex, huh; are we sensing a fetish? [Via]

It appears Juno, the chart topping, Oscar nom snagging comedy film, isn’t the only outlet launching the tunes of defunct anti-folk duo the Moldy Peaches into the ears of self-empowering teens and beyond. In fact, Adam Green and Kimya Dawson– the Moldy Peaches — are finding fans in hygiene-wary SouthAmericans; Green recently discovered their tune “Jorge Regula” wasillegally being used in a toothpaste commercial across the continent,and had become a radio hit. “At least with Juno they asked our permission to use the song,” Green told”We had to hunt down lawyers in South America to sue toothpastecompanies… the only reason we found out about the commercial was westarted winning awards for best commercial of the year in Argentina.”

While its other members collaborate elsewhere, Rocket From the Crypt’s former frontman John “Speedo” Reishas tapped a few musically inclined pals — Gar Wood (Hot Snakes,Beehive & the Barracudas), Jason Kourkounis (Hot Snakes, Mule,Delta 72), and Tommy Kitsos (CPC Gangbangs) — for the Night Marchers,a new project set to release their debut, See You In Magic,April 22 via Swami Records and Reis’ longtime pals Vagrant. To catchthe band live, along with many, many others, head down to Austin for SXSW, or roll into one of four gigs in early February throughout SoCal.

See You In Magic tracklisting:

1. “Closed for Inventory”
2. “In Dead Sleep (I Snore ZZZZ)”
3. “I Wanna Deadbeat You”
4. “Jump in the Fire”
5. “Branded”
6. “Who’s Lady R U?”
7. “You’ve Got Nerve”
8. “Open Your Legs”
9. “Bad Bloods”
10. “And I Keep Holding On”
11. “Total Bloodbath”
12. “Panther in Crime”

The Night Marchers tour dates:

2/8, San Diego, CA (Pink Elephant)
2/9, San Diego, CA (The Casbah)
2/10, Long Beach, CA (Alex’s Bar)
2/11, Los Angeles, CA (All Star Lanes)

Tags: Music News