Skip to content

Radiohead LP Issued Release, Price: ‘Up to You’; Winehouse Details DVD

Finally, the loads of teasers and wacky web dispatches have come to a head — Radiohead‘s “chemical weapon” is en route. “Hello everyone,” guitarist Jonny Greenwood wrote to “Well, the new album is finished, and it’s coming out in 10 days; We’ve called it In Rainbows.”Whoa, wrap your head around that! The much-mooted forthcoming album,the Oxford-based outfit’s seventh LP to date and follow up to 2003’s Hail to the Thief, again produced by longtime knob twister Nigel Godrich, will arrive Oct. 10 exclusively as a DRM-freemp3 download via the band’s web site. What’s more, is that youdetermine its worth — that’s correct, for the download, the going rateis “up to you.” Take that music industry!

For the techno-inept or purist CD/vinyl LP crowd, Radiohead will also release In Rainbowsas a “discbox,” featuring the new record in CD and double-vinylformats, plus a second disc with seven extra tunes and album photos,artwork and lyrics. Though Radiohead’s longtime contract with EMI hasexpired, and a distributor has yet-to-be announced, fans can preorderthe boxset now for the price of £ 40 (about $81.00), which, accordingto the website, will ship “on or before” Dec. 3. Furthermore, aconventional CD release is in the works for early 2008.

In Rainbows tracklisting:

1. “15 Step”
2. “Bodysnatchers”
3. “Nude”
4. “Weird Fishes/Arpeggi”
5. “All I Need”
6. “Faust Arp”
7. “Reckoner”
8. “House of Cards”
9. “Jigsaw Falling Into Place”
10. “Videotape”

In Rainbows bonus disc tracklisting:

1. “MK 1”
2. “Down is the New Up”
3. “Go Slowly”
4. “MK 2”
5. “Last Flowers”
6. “Up on the Ladder”
7. “Bangers and Mash”
8. “4 Minute Warning”

Amy Winehouse Details DVD

Can’t get enough of wifey-poo Amy Winehouse? Well, if so, you’re in luck for the Brit nightingale has announced the release of I Told You I Was Trouble,a DVD documentary and live offering set to arrive stateside Nov. 13,the singer’s publicist confirms. Featuring a full live concert playedin London’s Shepherds Bush Empire this past April, Winehouse’s newrelease will also dispatch her “Rehab” performance from the BritAwards, plus an early acoustic version of “There Is No Greater Love.”

New Stephen Malkmus LP Set for March 2008

Stephen Malkmus, the former frontman of ’90s alt-rock centerpieces Pavement,is a prized artist; his fans are fervent, they’ll feed on even thesmallest of submissions and news bits, say, a vague release date. So,this one’s for you: Yes, it’s true, though no other details have beenreleased, a Matador spokesperson confirmed that Malkmus’ follow up to2005’s Face the Truth will drop this March. Now don’t go unlawfully seeking details, I doubt Mr. Malkmus would appreciate such an act.

Pipettes Postpone North American Tour

The evil officials of the United States’ stringent immigration system strike again! Citing the always vague “delay in visa paperwork,” Brit trio the Pipetteshave been forced to scrap the majority of their North American tour,however, leaving its tail end intact for the moment. So far, thePipettes’ tour, originally slated kick off at Chicago’s Park West venuetomorrow in celebration of the stateside release of We Are the Pipettes,has been scrapped up to its Oct. 25 gig at Los Angeles’ Avalon venue.In total, 19 dates have been scrapped, but six dates in cities like LosAngeles, San Francisco, Seattle, and Vancouver, BC remain.

Pipettes tour dates not yet canceled:

10/25, Los Angeles, CA (Echoplex)
10/29, San Francisco, CA (Bimbo’s 365 Club)
10/31, Portland, OR (Wonder Ballroom)
11/1, Seattle, WA (Crocodile Cafe)
11/2, Eugene, OR (John Henry’s)
11/3, Vancouver, BC (Plaza Club)