Skip to content

Morrissey Fires Kristeen Young; B-52’s Drop First Album in 16 Years

Remember, it’s “Morrissey’s town, we just live in it”: With a slip of the tongue, Kristeen Young,has been asked to leave Moz’s tour after warming the stage for over 170shows, the singer says on her MySpace blog. Fans posting at morrissey-solo.comare attributing the axe job to an incident last Tuesday (Oct. 23)during the Mozzer’s residency at New York City’s Hammerstein Ballroom.During her set, Young allegedly said: “Morrissey gives good head, Imean, er, cunnilingus.” Of course, sexual themes can be a bit touchyfor the King of Mope.

Responding to her subsequent layoff via a MySpace blog post, Young states the remark was intended as a “metaphorical and overstated” joke:

“Oneof the two words in question is a scientific term found in junior highhealth class text books, and the other word, I feel most would agree,is lightweight slang. The ‘offending’ statement, in particular, was inno way a literal statement, and was very much in keeping with the toneof my writing in general… I meant no harm. I love Morrissey with allof my heart, soul, body, spirit, to the core of my existence and alwayswill. These will be the only words I will ever write or speak on thesubject ever again.”

Texan-bred rockers Girl in a Coma will join Morrissey for the remainder of his tour.

Bring Your Jukebox Money! B-52’s Are Back!

New wave legends the B-52’s will return to the fold in 2008 with Funplex,the outfit’s Astralwerks debut and first studio LP in 16 years, due tostore shelves Feb. 26. Produced by Steve Osborne (New Order, HappyMondays, Doves, KT Tunstall), the new LP was recorded in the band’shometown of Athens, GA with all four original members — Kate Pierson,Fred Schneider, Keith Strickland, and Cindy Wilson. “It’s loud, sexyrock and roll for your pleasure zones, with the beat pumped up to hotpink,” Strickland said in a statement.

“We are thrilled to bebringing the B-52’s music to a new generation of intergalactic fans.Cindy, Fred, Kate, and Keith have made an album that is incrediblyfresh, dynamic and perhaps most importantly, quintessentially theB-52’s … instantly recognizable, instantly fun,” Astralwerks labelmanager Glenn Mendlinger added.

Funplex tracklisting:

1. “Pump”
2. “Hot Corner”
3. “Ultraviolet”
4. “Juliet Of The Spirits”
5. “Funplex”
6. “Eyes Wide Open”
7. “Love In The Year 3000”
8. “Deviant Ingredient”
9. “Too Much To Think About”
10. “Dancing Now”
11. “Keep This Party Going”

Goldfrapp Unveils ‘Seventh Tree’ Release Date

British electronic duo Goldfrapp will release Seventh Tree,their fourth album to date, Feb. 25 via Mute. Recorded in the duo’sSomerset, England, studio, the record follows 2006’s remix set We Are Glitter and its predecessor, Supernature. According to a MySpace post,the album was “inspired by the beauty of their native Englishcountryside and a bit of California,” and is “gilded in the butterflycolors of English Surrealism.” “We can’t wait for you to hear whatwe’ve been doing,” commented frontwoman Alison Goldfrapp and synth savant Will Gregory. “It comes from the heart and was made with love, so we hope you will be into it too.”